Acne scars more than your skin

20150410_213206I was thinking back to my younger days, especially when I first started to experience acne and thought I’d share some things with you.  My goal is to let you see into the mind of someone that has acne and what that feels like for them.  Acne started for me at about freshman year in high school (perfect timing), just when you are about to meet complete strangers and hope that you get accepted into all the popular groups.  A lot of teenagers think acne is “no big deal,”  so they will tease and taunt, not thinking at all about what it’s doing to the person that has this public display on their face.  Let me tell you, it IS a very big deal because you just want to blend into the crowd, go unnoticed for the “bumps” and just be noticed for what you have to say or the cool clothes you wore to school.  Whether you want it to or not, acne keeps you on display all day, everyday and makes you the target of all jokes.  You could already be having a lousy day and then you come across that one guy that just won’t let up with the insults.  For me, I’d come to school minding my own business, going to my classes and doing my school work like I was supposed to and from out of nowhere, someone makes a comment.  One day, the bell rang, which meant one class had just ended and another was starting, so you had time to head to your locker to get your books.  A guy I knew, caught up with me as I was walking.  So of course I’m feeling pretty cute for a change, so I proudly stop to see what he wanted.  He is shooting the breeze with small talk and feels the need to say to me “you’d be fine, if you didn’t have those bumps on your face.”  In what backwards world is that a compliment?!  You ever poke a balloon with a stick pin and watch it lose it’s helium?  It’s slow and it kind of just oozes out of the balloon.  Well, that’s what happened to my somewhat happy spirit I had that day.  And the word “bumps” just made it sound so much worse whenever someone blurted it out.  That is the point I am making.  So many teenagers that have never had acne,  could never fathom what in the world it feels like to be talked about at school for your complexion, go to bed and wake up with the same problem, only to have to go right back to school for more the next day.  That is so hard to do.  You know by putting makeup over the top of the acne is a little relief, but then you’ll have to take it off again.  You can’t win when you have acne, especially being a teenager at high school.  You want a girlfriend or boyfriend, but instead you get people who need a boost to their own ego, embarrassing you about your face.  It’s humiliating and it’s painful, both physically and mentally.  If you know someone with any type of acne, know that even if they don’t show it, when they are in private, they are miserable and need some understanding.  Usually, the acne problem has something to do with an internal issue with the blood, so you can’t just get rid of it” in some cases.  People with acne, there is help and support out there for you to heal your scars, on your face and your heart.  Peace and blessings.

Title of my YouTube channel:    Fibroids, locs, low self esteem and more

YouTube video link:  https://youtu.be/bUl8YleTKDU?list=PLgpPQonzX1JMsTdlqDpKfnxG2oJ51I0xi

Leave a comment